Mangalore United lose in a thriller

13 September 2009

Veteran Mansur Ali Khan, turned the clock back and jumped with ecstasy, belying his 37 summers. Mansur struck the winning four off Mangalore United captain Bharat Chipli in the last over as Bangalore Brigadiers snatched a one-
wicket victory in a Mantri Karnataka premier League match at the Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Friday night.

Needing 119 for victory, Bangalore Brigadiers scored the required runs in 19.3 overs while losing nine wickets. The chase was largely sluggish as openers K.L. Rahul and Robin Uthappa (5) returned early and when a diving skipper Deepak Chougule (6) failed to beat S.N. Ameet’s throw, Bangalore Brigadiers struggled at 33 for five in 8.4 overs.
However, David Mathias (30) gave a second wind to the chase and with the tail wagging furiously through Sadiq Kirmani (17 n.o.), Vinu Narayanan (13) and Mansur (6 n.o.), victory was secured.

Earlier, Mangalore United struggled as its key batsmen openers Karun Nair and skipper Bharat Chipli failed to build on their starts against an attack helmed by Mansur (two for 22). Youngster R. Jonathan struck a few impetuous shots but like the rest, flattered to deceive as Mangalore United scored 118 in 19.3 overs.


Mangalore United

Karun Nair c Rahul b Mathias 15

Bharath Chipli c&b Dileep 19

SN Ameet (run out) 0

Jonathan Rongsen b Vinu Prasad 24

Rohit Sabarwal c Dileep b Vinu Prasad 15

Vijay Chavan lbw M Vinod 21

Udit Patel c Mathias b Mansur 8

Azgar Pasha (not out) 5

S Arvind (run out) 1

H Venkatesh c Mathias b Uthappa 0

Sinan Abdul Qadir c S Kirmani b Mansur 1

Extras (LB-6, W-3) 9; Total (all out, 19.3 overs) 118
Fall of wickets: 1-38, 2-38, 3-47, 4-78, 5-83, 6-104, 7-111, 8-116, 9-118.


M Khan 3.3-0-22-2

Vinu Prasad 4-0-19-2

Vinod 4-0-26-1

Sagar 2-0-4-1

D Mathias 1-0-10-1

D Chougule 1-0-9-0

R Uthappa 4-0-22-1

Bangalore Brigadiers

KL Rahul c Chavan b Arvind 1

Robin Uthappa c Chavan b Venkatesh 5

S Vinod c Karun b Pasha 13

M Vinod c Chipli b Udit 0

Deepak Chougoule (run out) 6

Steve Lazarus c Pasha b Abdul Qadir 16

David Mathias (run out) 30

Vinu Prasad (run out) 13

Sadiq Kirmani (not out) 17

Dileep Sagar c Chipli b Arvind 6

Mansur (not out) 6

Extras (W-6) 6; total (for 9 wkts, 19.3 overs) 119

Fall of wickets: 1-2, 2-13, 3-13, 4-27, 5-33, 6-53, 7-78, 8-98, 9-112


S Arvind 4-0-13-2

H Venkatesh 3.1-0-16-1

Udit Patel 4-0-22-1

Azgar Pasha 2.5-0-17-1

Karun Nair 2-0-20-0

Sinan Abdul Qadir 3-0-26-1

Bharath Chipli 0.3-0-5-0.



Post a Comment

Copyright © Mangalore Live